1823 The mine at Wall was re-opened and was active until
1842 when 12,000 tons of tin ore and 1,000 tins of copper ore
were taken out. The last known working was in 1852.
The mine at Wheal Alfred also produced copper.
Roseworthy Hammer Mills company made
shovels, chains and boilers etc for the mines, with lakes
and leats engineered to work the water wheels.
18--? Mr Hamblim, the blacksmith's son, invented a pile-cutter for velvet, making velveteen.
1851 The Reverend Henry Tremayne Rodd becomes vicar. Born 8.11.1811 in St Justin Roseland,
son of The Reverend Edward Rodd and Harriet (nee Rashleigh) , Henry was also related to the
Tremaynes of Heligan and the Hearles of Penryn. Gwinear parish church was very dilapidated
and Henry Rodd paid for the renovation of the Chancel.
This work was supervised by John Sedding, who worked as
architect in the creation of Truro's new cathedral. He was a
member of the Arts and Crafts movement, commended by
Ruskin. Sedding was noted for his sensitive renovation and
repair of rural churches. This Pentecost photo shows two
hardworking Churchwardens amid hassocks which take their designs
from the Victorian floor tiles.
Inset is one of the pew ends in the choir.
The stained glass windows were added at this time.
The East window depicts the gospel writers on either
side of the crucified Christ.
The Reredos is newly expertly renovated (.2014 )
1851 West Cornwall railway between Penzance amd Truro completed.
1851 Wall school opened to accommodate 230 children, in what is now Wall hall, the size of two modern
By this time the earth around the church was as high as the windows on the south side. Drainage was
required, The Georgian window on the north side of the Arundell Chapel was out of fashion, window frames
needed to be. renewed. Glorious stained glass windows were added.
The Good Shepherd Window
With musical angels above, John the Baptist
points the way towards Christ in the centre with Latin
words '' Ecce Homo, or 'Behold, the Man'. Jesus,
the Good Shepherd, and Lamb of God who brings
us the gift of living water.
On the right we see a kindly, thoughtful St Gwinear.
The west baptistry window has a grisaille
'Tree of Life ' design.
This tapestry kneeler shows The Lamb and Flag, the sign which represents
John the Baptist. It was stitched by Margaret Pascoe in memory he
husband, Willie. Their surname, like the French name Pascal ,
was originally given to a child born in the week before Easter; a period
during which time a newly born child could not be baptised into the
Catholic Church. Such a child was considered especially blessed.
The East Window
A Crucifixion scene is
flanked by the four gospel
writers, each with his
emblem in the tracery above.
For St John, on the right, is
the far seeing eagle, a tiny
way of reminding the
observer of the numinous
layers within the text of the
The Chancel roof bosses include a Star of David and
symbols from the Stations of the Cross
The roof boss below on the left may be viewed on request.
Tapestry kneelers in the choir have designs based on Victorian